Teresa Craven

teresa_craven

When I read the Craven family history that Grandmom wrote, I saw that she had three siblings who died very young. I suppose I shouldn’t have been surprised; childhood mortality rates were much higher back then (ca. 1900).

We have no photos or any record of these three children. Yesterday, however, I came across a newspaper online that mentioned the death of one of these little ones. This must have been Teresa, who was born around 1892. Grandmom wrote that the family called her “Essie.”

My great-aunt Essie. Just a little girl.

This clipping is from the “Harrisburg Telegraph,” Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, 28 April 1894.

Leave a Reply

