Summer Memories

On a cold and dreary day, it is a pleasure to remember summertime visits to see Grandmom. Here is a photo from 1971 taken in the backyard in Williamstown. I look back at pictures like this and wish I had paid attention more, but I was just a little kid.

summer_memories_01

Here are two more snapshots from Grandmom’s album, taken during a visit to see her and Aunt Eliza in Ocean City, New Jersey.

The first half…

summer_memories_02

… and the second half.

summer_memories_03

2 thoughts on “Summer Memories

  1. Thank you for your posts and all the research that goes into them. I enjoy the commentary as well! I too have treasured memories of summers spent on Greenfield in Williamstown. Many of them include your Grandmom and Aunt, or as I knew them, Cousins Margaret and Eliza. and Fr. Tom. I remember the pump and the yard in your snapshot, and lots of lemonade. In the house I was fascinated with the Civil War memorabilia and Cousin Margaret never tired of sharing her knowledge. There are also a few memories of Ann, but she was bed bound by then and passed away when I was very young.

    I suspect that we actually may have met at some point in the past. I also have good memories of your parents especially at Christmas time when I was visiting my Mother’s family, the McNamaras just a few doors up the road.

    My son has recently started researching the family history. In fact, he stopped at the Sacred Heart cemetery a few weeks ago to add some names and dates from the McNamara and Doyle sides. I’ve been sharing your posts with him as well.

    Be well! Mary Beth

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

    • Hi Mary, thank you for your comment. I remember going to Mary McNamara’s house (we called her Mary Mac) and playing around on her piano when I was little. I also remember all of the treasures in my Grandmother’s attic. I am glad that you enjoy the blog. I will tell my Dad about your message, he will be happy to hear about it.

      Dan

Leave a Reply

