Worthy Evidence

rev_thomas_craven_29_april_1971

Msgr. Thomas Craven, my cousin, was a priest for the Archdiocese of Philadelphia. He died on February 9, 2004.

I was looking through back issues of the Catholic newspaper for Philadelphia and discovered that Msgr. Craven was still being mentioned in the years after his death. This brought to mind a quote from Pope John XXIII that I recently came across:

“Do not walk through time without leaving worthy evidence of your passage.”

The photo above is from the Philadelphia Daily News, April 29, 1971, and shows Msgr. Craven in his younger years. Three excerpts from The Catholic Standard & Times are below. They reveal the continuing impact of his life.

msgr_craven_cst_article_01

msgr_craven_cst_article_02

msgr_craven_cst_article_03

2 thoughts on “Worthy Evidence

  1. Msgr Craven came to the Parish I belonged to St Hugh in Phila. I worked for the Parish. He married me. He treated me like his own son. I came to visit him when he transferred to St Agnes in Westchester Pa. He was a great man and I miss him.

Leave a Reply

